Skip to main content

The Science and Industry Museum in Manchester is open. Book your free tickets now.

The Josh Award

Find out more about the Josh Award, the UK's national award in STEM communication.

The Josh Award is a national prize for early-career science communicators who are passionate about continuing to work in this field in the future, including students, volunteers, researchers or creatives. It has been run in conjunction with Manchester Science Festival since 2007.

As well as recognising the achievement of talented individuals, the award is a long-term project that offers the opportunity for winners to deliver an activity at Manchester Science Festival, develop their communication skills and gain access to professional networks.

The award is inspired by and named in memory of Josh Phillips, who was the first Science Communication Officer at the Science and Industry Museum and proposed the first Manchester Science Festival. Josh was also the Chair of BIG, the UK's premier science communicators network, at the time of his passing.

2020 winner: Charlotte Hale-Smith

The 2020 Josh Award winner was Charlotte Hale-Smith, a dance-theatre artist, educator and the founder of FLUX Dance.

Charlotte fuses her creativity and experience in the arts with her passion for science to create innovative science engagement methods, combining STEM topics with dance, movement and games. 

The winning proposal, Ceto: My Plastic Ocean, told the story of the ecological crisis caused by plastic and what we can do about it. Through the creation of a 'Queen of the Sea' walkabout act and a family-friendly workshop combining performing arts with material and environmental science, Charlotte discussed the impact that plastic waste has on our environment.  

Ceto: My Plastic Ocean was presented at the Science and Industry Museum as a family-friendly activity in late 2021.

The selection panel was thrilled to award this year's prize to Charlotte in recognition of her innovative approach to science communication and dedication to creating inclusive and fun opportunities for science engagement.

Previous winners

Part of the Science Museum Group